Start a New Haunt

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Start a New Haunt

I have been working at several haunted house for the past 15 years, I have built, decorated and acted. My passion is Halloween/haunts. I have a haunt name along with a lot of ideas for rooms/ layouts. But I'm just having a hard time with the money situation, let alone getting a place to use for a haunt. Do I look for investors, do I borrow money from the bank, do I use a parking lot, trailers, commercial building. Just looking for advice. Thanks to all who can help.

I'm in the same situation..any help would be greatly appreciated!

Comment

Butcher start small and build up a little money, you happen to be in one of the worst state as far as fire codes. Maybe you could do a trailer haunt this would keep you under 1000 sf. Per building and keep you from putting in sprinklers and fire alarms. Look up the codes for your area because these are large expenses that are causing a lot of haunts to close. I know that a friend of mine got his building for free with a agreement to share profits in trade for rent. The landlord had the property sitting for a 2 years and my friend convinced him that a haunted house would drive more traffic to the strip mall. He ended up putting 4800 people through with out much advertising gave the landlord $15,000 he was thrilled an got about $35,000 to put into next years haunt. He has done more advertising and thinks he will do about 7500 customers. Keep it simple and let it grow. This is best way for most businesses and hold true for haunted houses. Good luck.
      Phatman

Comment

Little by little