Liquid Latex

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Liquid Latex

I am sure this has been answered before but i am new to the makeup side of this. What kind of latex do i need to use on people and to make cut's, wounds, etc and where do i get it from. I seen some at screamline but i don't know what i need or how much. I will be working with about 40 or 50 actors. Also do i use sprit gum to apply it. These may be crazy questions but i am in need of the information

Thanks for the help
    Brett

Really any latex will work. Low ammonia is best when your putting it on someones face. Get it from Screamline, thats fine. Email them so they knw what you are doing.
    For wounds you make right on thir skin you wont need spirit gum, I hate spirit gum and dont use it for anything. If you are attaching cured latex wound prosthetics then I like prosaide over spirit gum.
    MANY PEOPLE ARE ALERGIC TO LATEX!!! Test every actor to see if they are. Put a bit of latex on their inner elbow, allow it to dry then wait ten minuites. If they feel a burning or tingling then they are alergic to latex. Do not put any latex on a person who is alergic.
    Good luck
    www.Stiltbeaststudios.com
    http://www.youtube.com/user/Stiltbea...s?feature=mhee

Comment

As Allen said, test every actor for the risk of allergy first (and some people can take several hours to react, but then break out into blisters later). Also apply barrier spray to your actors before using latex to help prevent any minor skin irritation.

Watermelon appliances are another option for anyone that is allergic to latex.

I recommend Screamline's latex and the quantity depends on how many nights you are open along with how elaborate the makeup jobs will be (if you are just doing a few cuts each night then you can stretch out a gallon, if you plan to do some full face wounds and large appliances then at least 2 gallons).
      Katie Lane
      Partner/VP