Character Development

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Character Development

Hey everyone! I'm a total noob to the haunt industry, and sadly, I'm not very scary. My boss seems to think I'd be better at entertaining the people in the queue (reading rules, calming down hysterical people, pointing out possible troublemakers) rather than scaring people on the inside. This is a costumed/in character position, but I'm not allowed to do anything more extreme than startle-scare people. I realize this is an important job, and that it's not a job that just anyone can do. But still, after our first weekend, he's pretty much made up his mind that he wants me out there every Saturday night. :|

I'm not 100% against it, but I'd still like to be able to prove that I CAN be scary and that my bosses can trust me to do well wherever I'm placed. Does anyone have any good resources at their disposal on developing scary and memorable characters?
    Chris Riehl
    Sales@spookyfinder.com
    (586)209-6935
    www.spookyfinder.com

Originally posted by Katie Mechenbier View Post
    Hey everyone! I'm a total noob to the haunt industry, and sadly, I'm not very scary. My boss seems to think I'd be better at entertaining the people in the queue (reading rules, calming down hysterical people, pointing out possible troublemakers) rather than scaring people on the inside. This is a costumed/in character position, but I'm not allowed to do anything more extreme than startle-scare people. I realize this is an important job, and that it's not a job that just anyone can do. But still, after our first weekend, he's pretty much made up his mind that he wants me out there every Saturday night. :|

I'm not 100% against it, but I'd still like to be able to prove that I CAN be scary and that my bosses can trust me to do well wherever I'm placed. Does anyone have any good resources at their disposal on developing scary and memorable characters?