Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Own 'Haunted Mansion' Attraction...Dream Realized

Greetings, Fellow Haunt Fans!

My name is Kevin Karstens, I am a professional illustrator, and tho I have not had access to a house or yard to haunt for well over 20 years (we live in an apartment, the wife and I) I have wanted to create a dark ride inspired by Disney's Mansion since I was about 8 years old, back when my kid sister and I created 'rides' in our backyard (complete with fully operational animatronic figures, powered by record players, audio on cassettes and black light effects) which we pushed neighborhood kids through in a wheel barrow at 25 cents a head...

As I have no ability to create a full scale haunted attraction, I came up with another way to realize my dream...create everything as fully functional miniatures, and film them with a mini DV cam, moving along inside/past them to create a 'POV ride experience'...

So far I have created 6 of the proposed 11 fully operational miniature scenes from the 'Spectre Seekers: Daark Valley Orphanage' concept/script I came up with ...

You can see more on the 'Daark Orphanage'
    via the link below here, including videos of the fully functioning miniature sets and concept artwork:

http://kkarstens.wix.com/daarkvalleyorphanage

Here is the POV video (including the 'queue') so far...

Thanks for taking the time to look all this over, and I would love to hear what you think...

-K
    Last edited by Kevin Karstens; 05-02-2014, 09:49 PM.

Great!

This was fun!

My childhood was filled with miniature based shows, Thunderbirds, Captain Scarlet, Stingray, Joe 90 etc (Supermarionation is go!), I have a soft spot for the format that has lingered on.

Also seems like a great way to run experiments with sets and ideas for scenes on a small (and therefore thrifty scale), dropping the camera in to get a customer POV is a neat way to see if the effect works.