Hiring Make-Up Artists?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hiring Make-Up Artists?

I am opening up my first haunt this october.
    i have grown out of the phase of using masks, only if they are really detailed. lol
    And i am moving towards make-up and prosthetics/fx.
    Since i have no experience what so ever in that field of haunting.
    Should i hire a local make-up artist? i would like the best effect possible.
    Would this be worth it?
    Also i am a theme that would need color blending for make-up.
    Please Comment!

--Troy

Troy , having a talented FX artist, doing the makeup at your haunt is the difference between having a Great Haunt and having a ok haunt.
    Find a Artist that is willing to come in and do FX along with one who is willing to teach your actors how to do it themselves...... Dont wait until September 15th and decide that you need a FX artist, find him Now and start getting your Actors together for FX classes......... while you have them there for FX training utilize the time to work on the characterization skills, work on their scaretactics.......
    Buried deep beneath Darksyde acres Haunted house In Michigan I'm the Best at what I do, What I do Isn't very NICE!

Comment

I agree

Troy, Rob is 100% correct! A talented and qucik make up artist and one that can teach is crucial to the overall success of your haunt. I was the lead make up artist at my haunt for years and have learned a few things.
      If you have a small cast, then taking the time and teaching your actors how to do their own would eleviate the need for several artists.
      If you have a huge cast (like we did) and the actors had very limited talent (like we did) you need a make up artist team. Count on at least 1 artist for every 6 - 10 actors, depeding on the skill level, quickness of the artist and the level of difficulty of the make up you want.