Need suggestions, please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need suggestions, please

Hello haunter's, I have a few questions for some of the veterans. I have been throwing around the idea for the last 5 years pertaining to opening my very first haunt. After going through the phases when I was younger (building haunts in my basement, garage, etc.) and most recently having yard haunts for the trick or treaters in the neighborhood, I have decided to maybe take that initial step and have been researching it for the last few years. (traveling to various haunts outside of my locale, creating ideas, subscribing to hauntworld mag, etc.).
    My first question pertains to "location". I live in a small town, but within an hours drive there are actually numerous large cities and towns. The plus I see with a small town would be less expensive real estate, less "red tape", and a more rural setting ( which some city people already find frightening!). Business people I have spoken to have said that I need a better location (those people are not in the industry), I say "if you build it they will come" or am I mistaken?
    The second question is "size". I know that everybody loves the 60,000 sq. ft. haunts, so do I, but would they be necessary to turn a profit? I have seen some pretty crazy haunts set up in just small farmhouses and am just thinking of starting small and building my clientele and haunt over time, is it feasible in this day and age to start small and build from the ground up? I don't want to sacrifice quality for quantity. Thanks for reading and would greatly appreciate any suggestions that you may have!