Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I know I need a lawyer and accountant but...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I know I need a lawyer and accountant but...

just a general questioon to head me in the right direction.

I KNOW I need to contact a lawwyer and anccountant but...

If I incorporate or begin a haunt for profit and thereby have to start filing quartely estimated tax returns, what happens if I only stay open for one year and crash and burn? Do I have to pay estimated taxes on what I MIGHT have earned the next year?

Thanks as always, I appreciate the tremendous amount of assistance available through this site.

Pulpy
    ________
    ps3 jailbroken
    Last edited by Pulpscrypt; 01-25-2011, 01:55 AM.

I heard in Peru that you have to pay all your projected taxes for the first year before you ever open the door or take in one dollar.
    My ex's Cousin was a lawyer in Peru.
    hauntedravensgrin.com

Comment

Okay, I am an attorney, but not a tax attorney, so take this as general information, then get more specific info from an accountant or tax attorney.

In a seasonal business like a haunt you many not have to file quarterly estimated tax returns/pay estimated taxes quarterly. See IRS publication 505 for more information.

As a side note, depending on what state you are in, you might consider filing as an LLC rather than as a corporation. There are less paperwork requirements and several tax options. Once again, you will want to talk to an attorney and/or accountant to discuss the tax implications, but in most cases that is what I end up advising my clients (and indeed what I have done with my own haunt).
      Lords of Chaos, LLC
      House of Chaos Haunted Attraction

Comment