Haunt Layout Tool

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Haunt Layout Tool

I’m a programmer/designer that has always had a love for the industry. I’ve built home haunts for years and have gone on to work for my local haunts.
    I have an idea for a haunt layout tool, but I want to see if there’s any interest in the community first.

It’s a 3D layout tool that allows you to quickly drag and drop wall panels, doorways, windows, etc. to create your haunts’ layout. Once you’re happy with the layout you can fill it with props, lighting, sound, fog, etc.. All of this gives you a big advantage over designing the layout on paper since you can visualize what the haunt will actually look like in 3D. To expand on this you can even change your view to walk through the haunt to experience it from the perspective of a customer. When you’re all set with the layout you can export it as traditional building plans to reference during construction.

There is a lot more to it but that is the core concept. I think it is a neat idea, but I want to get as much feedback as possible to decide if I should pursue it.
    Last edited by Skeleton; 10-24-2017, 09:28 PM.

Interesting

If you want to get it use,d ten it has to be stupid easy, almost no learning curve, and have features specific to haunt design. Some ides:

Many people build with wall panels of set size, built on a jig. Allow the user to set the standard wall panel size they wish to use (i.e. 4x8, 4x10).
    Allow user to select if they wish to use pre-set wall panel sizes, or "free form" and just build to measurements
    Allow a setting for wall thickness (some people use 2x4, some use 2x2, some rip 2x4 in half, which actually is slightly bigger than a 2x2) which takes into account stud and covering (1/4" paneling, 1/2", one-sided or two-sided)
    Provide layout guides and allow a user to select from triangle grid layout guides, standard layout guides, or a mixture of both