Vendor Communication

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vendor Communication

This will be my first year running my own haunt, so I'm just learning when it comes to dealing with haunt vendors. Hopefully some of the veterans on here can answer my questions and I don't end up being a pest and damaging relationships before they even start. I'm having some trouble placing orders and getting replies when it comes to certain vendors. While I refuse to give names, I do think it's fair to ask some general questions so I know when to move on and not fall behind schedule. So here goes!

1) How long after you send an e-mail or place a phone call to a vendor do you wait before calling or writing again if you get no reply? -- I'm asking this because I'm assuming that some of these vendors don't do this full time and may only respond on weekends or other days.

2) At what point do you assume the vendor does not want your business and move on? -- I know this sounds harsh, but I've got a schedule to keep!

3) Do most vendors respond better to e-mail or phone calls?

Here's an example of what I'm dealing with. Maybe you all can tell me if I'm being fussy and I just need to be patient or if I've got some valid frustration. I'm used to placing an order either via website or by phone and then getting it shipped whenever the product is ready, whether it be 2 days or 6 weeks as long as I know when it's coming.